Darkness At the Heart of This Town

I recorded this song several years ago with the great producer Bill Bottrell (Michael Jackson, Tom Petty, Elton John, many others).

He put my wife and I up at his home in Mendocino County and we had a beautifully casual session in which I got to see and a hear a taste of what makes him so good.

I played the song for him on guitar and he listened. Over the next hour, at his direction, we changed the key, the time signature, a couple of words, and wrote an intro and outro – all massive improvements that seemed to bring out the soul of the composition.

His instincts about how best to showcase my voice and style were spot-on. I learned a lot and this track will always be very dear to me.

Leave a Reply

