Glen Campbell


Good Lord. The sort of really brave, sort of really morbid path that Johnny Cash blazed with his unflinching look at his own physical decline on the American Recordings albums  – and particularly the “Hurt” video – has been taken even further by Glen Campbell. Here he gives his final performance with a song about his dementia, which doubles as a love song to his wife. It’s called “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” – the harrowing implication being that he won’t miss her because he won’t remember who she is. It’s all set to a music video that flips between him in his glory years and him looking at MRI scans of his deteriorating brain. 

Well, that’s country music.

Some lyrics:

I’m never gonna hold you like I did
Or say I love you to the kids
You’re never gonna see it in my eyes
It’s not gonna hurt me when you cry
I’m never gonna know what you go through
All the things I say or do
All the hurt and all the pain
One thing selfishly remains
I’m not gonna miss you

Leave a Reply

